Legion of Honor Programs

The Legion of Honor Award programs publicly recognizes and honors outstanding members of society whose lives model the giving spirit and unconditional service to community, nation, and humanity without regard to race, religion, or creed exemplified so dramatically by the Four Chaplains. To be considered for any of the five awards, the selfless and transformative achievement must be above and beyond that of a professional resume or organizational position.

The Legion of Honor Gold Medallion is the highest and most prestigious award presented at this time. It is given to a person whose leadership has brought his actions to worldwide attention, and whose very life epitomizes the spirit of the sacrifice of the Four Chaplains.

The Legion of Honor Bronze Medallion is the second highest award and is granted for extraordinary contributions to the well-being of others at the national or world level, to world peace, or to inter-faith and inter-ethnic understanding.

The Junior Legion of Honor Award is given to young people who have contributed to the improvement of the inter-ethnic and inter-faith harmony in their communities. Their contribution must symbolize the sacrifice of the Four Chaplains to selfless service.

The Legion of Honor Humanitarian Award is given in recognition of a lifetime commitment to selfless service and societal advancement that has demonstrably affected the quality of life in the community, state or nation, service without regard to faith or race. The selection process for this award is rigorous.

The Charles W. David, Jr. Lifesaving Medallion is rarely awarded and is given to persons who have saved the life of another at grave personal risk.

The Posthumous Chapel Honors Award is given in recognition of those military personnel, police officers, firefighters, EMTs, Federal and State agents of law-enforcement agencies who lost their lives in the line of duty, and would not qualify for other Legion of Honor Awards as described above.

Distinguished recipients of the Legion of Honor Awards have included Presidents Harry Truman, Dwight Eisenhower, James Carter, and Ronald Reagan. Notable luminaries who received the award were Bob Hope, John Glenn, Mickey Rooney, Martha Raye, James Michener, Marian Anderson, C. Everett Koop, Tommy Lasorda and Shirley Chisholm as well as deserving military personnel, veterans, and civilians from all walks of life.

Nominations are accepted for any of these awards from past recipients of the Legion of Honor; church and government leaders; and leaders of civic, fraternal and veteran organization only. All awards must be publicly presented at a Legion of Honor service or as part of an appropriate ceremony which includes the Saga of the Four Chaplains. For past Legion of Honor recipients, you do not need to go through your local Post/Detachment to submit nominations.

For further information, email the Coordinator at chapel@fourchaplains.org or download the 2017 Awards Nomination Form or the 2017 LOH GUIDELINES.

Four Chaplains Memorial Foundation © 2015 1201 Constitution Avenue The Navy Yard, Bldg. 649 Philadelphia, PA 19112-1307 Phone: 215-218-1943 Fax: 215-218-1949 www.fourchaplains.org Email Frontier Theme